After months of discussion about the possibility of travel bubbles since its first introduction in May 2020, countries around the world are launching these models with the countries they consider safe destinations. Let’s see how these travel bubbles are being carried out all over the world at the moment.



Japan – Asian countries

On September 8, Japan announced a travel bubble with five regions in Asia – Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar and Taiwan – which will be joining Thailand and Vietnam on Japan’s travel bubble list. This travel bubble, however, is currently limited to residents in the respective destinations.

Separately, Japan and Singapore have also agreed to a travel corridor for short-term business travelers starting September 18. The business track will allow the resumption of short-term business trips between the two countries. Naturally, travelers must undergo COVID-19 testing before departure as well as upon arrival in either country as a safety precaution. No quarantine or isolation measures will be implemented, but travelers must adhere to the strictly controlled travel itinerary during their initial 14-day time in the host country.

China – South Korea, Singapore

China and South Korea have implemented their own corona bridge since May 2020. The tightly controlled travel bubble applies only to selected cities in both countries which includes Seoul to Shanghai.

China and Singapore are in talks to create their own travel bubble for business people and officials. Initial discussion seems to reveal a still-complex procedure that involves swab tests before departure, on arrival, pre-approved itineraries and a “SafeTravel Pass”, and usage of the host country’s contact tracing app.

A limited number of passengers from Singapore and 6 Chinese cities—Shanghai, Tianjin, Chongqing, Guangdong, Jiangsu and Zhejiang—will be able to travel between the two countries without spending any quarantine period.

Singapore – Brunei Darussalam, China, Malaysia, New Zealand, South Korea

Singapore has established Reciprocal Green Lane (RGL) and Air Travel Pass (ATP) arrangements with some countries, namely Brunei Darussalam, China, Malaysia, New Zealand and South Korea. Both the RGL and ATP scheme essentially grant short-term cross-border travels for residents of Singapore and its partner countries. The RGL is geared towards essential business and official purposes, while the ATP provides the means for participants to travel on non-essential trips to and from Singapore.

India – Canada

A bilateral travel bubble between the countries India and Canada is now operational. The Director General of Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) stated that as per bubble agreement, all Indian nationals holding Canadian passport with valid visas are allowed to travel between Canada and India. Conversely, Canadian nationals and residents are also allowed to travel from Canada to India and vice versa.

Malaysia – Singapore, Brunei

Talks of “green lanes” are being conducted between Malaysia, Singapore and Brunei. Among others, guidelines for less restrictive cross-border travel between the three countries are on the agenda as well as possible skybridges with countries with no new cases of infection within the last 28 days.



UK – Exempted Countries

The UK has issued an official list of exempted countries and has established travel corridors with the following countries and territories: Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, Barbados, Bonaire, St Eustatius and Saba, Brunei the Channel Islands, Cuba, Curaçao, Cyprus, Denmark, Dominica, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Fiji, Finland, Germany, Greece, Greenland, Grenada, Hong Kong, Iceland, Ireland, the Isle of Man, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macao (Macau), Malaysia, Mauritius, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, San Marino, Seychelles, Slovakia, South Korea, St Barthélemy, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Pierre and Miquelon, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Taiwan, Turkey, Vatican City State, Vietnam.

Consequently, travelers visiting or returning home to the UK will not be subjected to on-arrival quarantine.

Austria – Germany

Austria has fully reopened its borders with Germany since June 15, 2020. This travel bubble allows business and leisure trips to be made between the two countries. Austria is also planning on expanding its travel sphere to eventually include Switzerland, Liechtenstein and “neighboring eastern European countries”.

Croatia – Slovenia

The Baltic states of Croatia and Slovenia formed an agreement to set up a quarantine-free travel bubble between them in May 2020. Croatia’s tourism sector accounts for roughly 20 percent of the country’s total GDP, which renders the travel bubble with Slovenia a welcome relief.

Denmark – Norway

The two Scandinavian countries have agreed to establish a travel bubble and reopen tourism between them, while notably excluding Sweden. Both Denmark and Norway will maintain restrictions for Sweden, as it’s still the country with the highest coronavirus-related deaths in the region.



Aruba – The Caribbean Islands (exclusive The Dominican Republic & Haiti), Canada, Europe, USA

The government of Aruba has announced the reopening of borders to travelers from nearby Caribbean islands, Canada, Europe and the US. It’s important to note that with regards to the US, certain conditions are in place for travelers residing in a list of 24 monitored states, namely that they must take a PCR test and upload the results before departure. Travelers from outside the list reserve the option to take the PCR test upon arrival.

Antigua and Barbuda – CARICOM states, OESC states, Barbados, Trinidad and Tobago, Guyana and Jamaica

The government of Antigua and Barbuda have issued a statement saying that they will allow residents and citizens of several states within the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) without needing to present COVID-19 certificates upon arrival. The travel bubble also extends to residents and citizens from the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OESC), Barbados, Trinidad and Tobago, Guyana and Jamaica.

Saint Lucia – 12 Caribbean countries

The Government of Saint Lucia has identified and recognized the following 12 countries as designated travel bubbles due to their low-risk transmission of COVID-19. Antigua and Barbuda, Anguilla, Barbados, Bonaire, British Virgin Islands, Curacao, Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, Saint Barthelemy, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Vincent and the Grenadines. Visitors within the Bubble Countries with a travel history from these areas in the last 21 days will be exempt from quarantine; however, they must have a negative result from a PCR test taken no more than 7 days before arriving in Saint Lucia and are subject to mandatory screening on arrival.

Source: Destination Review